A NEW WEEK, KEEP WRITING, EDIT, EDIT, AND EDIT SOME MORE, NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER SURRENDER.

It is Monday, the first day of June, and here in Colorado we have started the day off with bright sunshine and drier weather.  May was the wettest month we have had since 1935.  I am always happy to see rain, but May was a little too much for everyone across the country with all the flooding.

NEW HANGMAN SINGLEToday is also my laundry day, bill pay time and while the washing machine is doing its thing, I am reviewing what I have written so far on THE HANGMAN.  Reviewing your work is a good thing.  If you have left out an important fact, you can add it and adjust the storyline.  I try to keep a running record of facts that must be included, but sometimes forget to write them in.  This is what works for me, especially during the investigation period in the story.  Slow and steady writing means less rewrites and less time I have to spend adding things I forgot.

Sometime, I think no matter how many times you go over and over a manuscript, error escape and persist in being in your work.  Those double word that your brain refused to identify so you can edit them out, i.e. the the, or a a.  You’d swear you caught all the errors, but on another edit, there they are jumping out at you from the page.  How in the hell did I miss that, you wonder.  it’s easy to do.  So don’t be too hard on yourself.  Remember the quote from one of my favorite spoof movies,  Galaxy Quest, NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER SURRENDER.  Keep at the editing.

Everyone have a great week and stay safe.

Dreamah

 

One thought on “A NEW WEEK, KEEP WRITING, EDIT, EDIT, AND EDIT SOME MORE, NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER SURRENDER.

Leave a Reply

