WAR OF THE MARSHMALLOW PIES, MORE RAIN, POOR MOUSE, THE REWRITE, THE HANGMAN

images[1]Did you ever have one of those days when you’ve had to admit you’re a junkie?  A food junkie.  I’ve been done in by marshmallow pies.  I went to the store yesterday and tried hard to walk right by those blasted things, but I was shocked to see two boxes jump right into my cart.  No matter how hard I fought, they wouldn’t climb back onto that shelf and insisted on coming home with me. I’m a lost cause when it comes to those things. Oh well, I will continue to fight the good fight and will eventually win this War of the Marshmallow Pies.

images[2]The weatherman says we will have more rain this evening, Thursday and Friday.  It will help cool us down a bit.  When you don’t have air conditioning, and you live at the elevation of Colorado Springs, that eighty-some degrees feels really hot inside the house.  Once the heat settles into the fiber of the house, it is hard to cool the inside even with four fans running all day and evening.  Oh, my electric bill.  I don’t care as long as I stay cool.

images[3]My wonderful nephew came down Monday and cut my knee-high grass for me.  The front and back yards look like green velvet.  I am sorry to say he ran over a mouse with the lawn mower, killed one, two escaped.  When I was a child, we lived in West Virginia and there were mice where we lived.  My poor mother would set traps for them with cheese as bait.  She had a time with me.  I’d spring the trap, remove the cheese and place it at the entrance to the mouse’s hole in the wall.  I hate the thought of any animal being mistreated or killed.  Logically, and I hate logic, if we want to have meat on the table, a creature must die.  I eat a lot of vegetables and yes, chicken.  I don’t like it, but I do eat meat.  If you had to depend on me to provide meat for your table, you’d better become a vegetarian.

NEW SNGLE STONE KILLER CVRSister is still reviewing the rewrite of THE STONE KILLER, checking for any errors AGAIN!  Editing is such a tedious job.  It is time-consuming, makes you tired, your eyes burn from staring at the page or computer, and you end up almost hating the book.  It has to be done and as a writer we have to learn to edit, edit, edit, and edit some more if we don’t want mistakes in the E-book or printed version.  I hate mistakes, but they do happen even to famous authors.  I have read books where in the beginning, the author called a character by one name, and later in the novel, by a totally different name.  That will confuse you.  Anyway, once the editing is finished and new versions uploaded to Amazon and CreateSpace, we will have a special E-Book Sale for two or three days.  I can’t give you a date yet, but it will happen.  Watch for the notice.

 

NEW HANGMAN SINGLETHE HANGMAN, the second novel in the series, is progressing really well.  The characters are talking to me and I keep typing down what they say.  The research has been more for this book as it will be for the others, but it is worth it.  Research is vital in writing any novel, whether it is for locale, legal or history.  Do your homework first and your book will be a lot better.

Well, back to work.  Books do not write themselves.

Everyone have a great day and stay safe.

Dreamah

 

 

Leave a Reply

