A NEW YEAR, SETTING GOALS, OIL PAINTING, FUR BABIES

Revised 1 SK CoverNEW HANGMAN SINGLEIt is hard to believe there are only two days left in 2015.  It was a year of discovery for me.  I learned so much about perfecting my craft of writing and oil painting.  Patience.  That word applies especially in writing and even more so in oil painting.  In writing, we always want to get to the end of the story.  Sometimes that doesn’t work so well.  It was evident with my novel THE STONE KILLER.  Yes, the original story I felt was good, but I left out important information.  The revised edition is a better novel.  Redoing THE STONE KILLER bit into my work time for THE HANGMAN.  With this novel, I’m taking it slow and making sure each step of the investigation is completed.  Also I’m revealing more about my characters.  Or anyway, I hope I have.  If I haven’t I do want you, the reader, to let me know.  Send me an e-mail and tell me what you want to learn about my characters.  I’m slowly whittle away at my stack of novel outlines for the Jonas Black series.  I have so many murder and mayhem stories to write as well as a pile of romantic suspense stories I want to tell.  I just don’t have enough hours in a day to get everything done I want to do.  Those are some of my goals for 2016.

022050Also I want to complete enough painting to have a show somewhere here in Colorado Springs.  I finished my painting of the ladybug.  Right now I’m working to complete a beautiful dragonfly.  I know, I like bugs.  Certain insects are beautiful to me, especially butterflies and dragonflies.  I do like to paint flowers with some type of critter in the painting.  My sister, who asked me to paint her blue morning glories, made me promise not to put a bug in her painting.  I kept my word.  But boy was I tempted to add an ant on the trellis.  I have a stack of photos I want to paint of birds, flower, mountain scenes, seascapes and too many to list.    Like I said, not enough hour for me to get it all done and take care of the fur babies, the house, the laundry and too many other things to list.  My fur babies are #1 on that list.  They’re my kids and mean the world to me.

Well everyone have a great day and stay safe.  Set reasonable goals for 2016, ones you can achieve, one step at a time.

Dreamah

Leave a Reply

