FOUND VETERAN, JERRY S HORTON, TITAN, FINDING PHYSICAL REPRESENTATION FOR CHARACTERS IN YOUR NOVEL,

57%20the%20%20little%20%20firebase%20%20after%20%20michael%20%20farley%20%20was%20%20kil1Recently I posted this photo of a Vietnam Vet on my Facebook page and asked if anyone knew who he was or if he made it back from that war.  His picture was the inspiration for a young version of one of my characters in THE HANGMAN.  I am happy to report his name is Dwight Davis and to know he came home, as so many of our young men did not.  I found his identity in an amazing book by Jerry S. Horton entitled SHAKE N BAKE SERGEANT.  I emailed Mr. Horton, and he was kind enough to respond.  If you want to know what that war was like, read his book.  I recommend it.  I hope the years have been good for Dwight Davis and for Jerry Horton, they deserve it as do all veterans.

When I create a character, I need to know what they look like.  Sometimes I use a combination of physical attributes of various people I know, other times actors or pictures I find on the Internet.  I print a copy of the picture and put it in that character’s file.  Other times, I use people in the news, or make up their physical appearance and try to locate an actor who resembles my character.  That way, I have a photo to remind me of their image.  I did this with all my novels.  It works well for me.  You might give it a try.

IMAG0506I am happy to report my little dog, Titan, came through his teeth cleaning trip to the vet very well.  He still doesn’t feel too well, but will be his old self by tomorrow.  He is such a precious little dog and my baby, as are all my pets.

images7JPAILFWAt this moment, here in Colorado Springs, I have my front and back door open.  This is more like spring weather than February.  Our winter has been mild so far and beautiful.  Right now, it is 68 degrees with bright sunshine.  I am enjoying the sun and warmth and not complaining.

Everyone have a great weekend and stay safe.  Remember: NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER SURRENDER.

Dreamah

 

Leave a Reply

