STORMS, WRITING FRUSTRATIONS, FILE OF STORY IDEAS, PLUGGING AWAY WRITING, COMPLETING A PAINTING

images[2]This afternoon, we have had thunder storms traveling up from New Mexico.  We call it an Albuquerque Low.  I started this blog on the 4th.  Well, that Albuquerque Low has stayed along the front range and today we had a downpour of hail that covered the roof and yard like snow.  The road in front of my house was more like a river, than a street.  We even had a funnel cloud form over this area, but thank God, it didn’t touch down.

NEW SNGLE STONE KILLER CVRWhen you complete a novel and think you have included everything necessary, it is so crappy when you find that you actually left out a lot of information that should have been included.  I am in a dilemma as that is what has happened to THE STONE KILLER.  I realized after I uploaded it for publication, that I had excluded a lot of the investigative information.  I have added over four thousand words to the book.  Now my poor sister is in the process of another edit on the novel.  I did this because several of my dearest friends, who read my novels before they are published, told me the story seemed rushed, but not in what way.  I love my friends and value their opinion, but wish they’d be a little more detailed and a bit brutal in their critique.  When a writer spends hours, days and months on a book, we sometimes become a little blind to seeing what needs to be added or deleted.  Writers don’t need flattery from friends, just the truth.  So when the final edit is done, I’ll either upload the novel again or pull it altogether and try the traditional route.  I may flip a coin on that decision.  I’ll wait and see if I get any responses on this blog about it.

I was looking for a piece of writing I had done a few years ago, which is still missing, and found an old file entitled “story ideas”.  I was surprised at how many brief storylines I had jotted down that will fit right in to the Jonas Black series.  So whenever you get stumped on what to write next, check out your old files.  You never know what you’ll find.  Have fun.

2nd THE HANGMAN BK CVRTHE HANGMAN is coming along great.  I have a list of things that have to be included for the investigation, who my killer is and what trips him up to keep me on track.  Hopefully, it will help  as I’m taking it slow to make sure I do.  My killer is a hard man and will have his justice.  This book is loosely based on a criminal act.  The criminal got off way too light as far as I was concerned, and  that irritated the hell out of me.  I am a firm believer in the appropriate punishment for horrendous crime.  My killer believes in that also and dishes out what he deems is the right justice.  He is not a nice man.

 

 

I also have been working on another painting and it is almost complete.  It is a gift to my nephew.  I’m sure by now I have filled up their walls.  The next painting I work on will be for me or maybe someone else.  I haven’t decided yet.  I am a person who has to write and create oil paintings.  I love both creative forms so much.  My creative abilities were stifled for too many years when I was married.  I am free now and enjoy what I do.

Well everyone, keep writing, painting or doing whatever creative process that makes you happy.  Have a great rest of the week and stay safe.

Dreamah

Leave a Reply

